About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
繁體 简体
Save As PDF Print this page

Glossary: ASEAN

Photo: ASEAN
Photo: ASEAN

Acronym in full: The Association of Southeast Asian Nations

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established in 1967 with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam then joined in 1984, followed by Vietnam, Lao PDR, Myanmar and Cambodia subsequently, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN. The aims and purposes of ASEAN are mainly to promote economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region though collaboration and mutual assistance, with a goal to establish an ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) by 2015.

Related region: Asia

Related section: ASEAN

Related resource: ASEAN official website

Related terms: AEC, CAFTA, Rmb trade settlement, RCEP


back to glossary list

Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)