About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
繁體 简体
Save As PDF Print this page

Glossary: G8


Picture: International economies

Acronym in full: The Group of Eight

The Group of Eight (G8) is a forum for the governments of eight of the world's largest national economies, United States, Japan, Germany, United Kingdom, Italy, Canada and Russia. With the G20 major economies growing in stature, world leaders from the group announced in 2009 that the group will replace the G8 as the main economic council of wealthy nations.


Related term: G20




back to glossary list

Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)