About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
繁體 简体
Save As PDF Print this page

Glossary: Schengen area

Photo: France
Photo: France

The Schengen area refers to countries covered by the Schengen Agreement signed in 1995 to abolish border checks at the signatories' common borders and adopt harmonization of visa policies. Anyone holding a valid signatory’s nationality identification or entry visa, can travel freely in the Schengen area. All EU countries, except Bulgaria, Ireland, Romania and the UK, are members of the Schengen Agreement, while non-EU Schengen members include Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Related section: EU

Related article:

Related term: EU 




back to glossary list

Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)