About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
繁體 简体
Save As PDF Print this page

ASEAN Economic Community Launch Marks Major Milestone for the Trade Bloc

The ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) officially launches today (31 December 2015). The announcement marks an important milestone for ASEAN's 10 member nations – Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Cambodia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Myanmar and Vietnam. It is a key development and boosts the bloc's ambitions to come together to form a 600-million strong consumer market, which would collectively rank the region as the world's seventh largest economy. Following its establishment, the Community now plans to pursue four basic aims – the creation of a single market and production base; increasing competitiveness; promoting equitable economic development; and further integrating the ASEAN markets with the global economy.

For Further Information See:

Welcome to the ASEAN Economic Community

Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)