About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
繁體 简体
Save As PDF Print this page

MALAYSIA: List of Locations for Implementation of Higher Monthly Minimum Wage Released

The country’s Ministry of Human Resources (MOHR) has released a list of the 57 locations where the previously announced RM1,200 (US$286) monthly minimum wage has been mandatory since 1 January this year:

  1. Johor Bahru
  2. Iskandar Puteri
  3. Alor Setar
  4. Melaka Bersejarah
  5. Pulau Pinang
  6. Seberang Perai
  7. Ipoh
  8. Shah Alam
  9. Petaling Jaya
  10. Kuala Terengganu
  11. Kuching North
  12. Kuching South
  13. Miri
  14. Kota Kinabalu
  15. Kuala Lumpur
  16. Batu Pahat
  17. Kluang
  18. Kulai
  19. Muar
  20. Segamat
  21. Pasir Gudang
  22. Kulim
  23. Sungai Petani
  24. Langkawi
  25. Kubang Pasu
  26. Kota Bharu
  27. Alor Gajah
  28. Jasin
  29. Hang Tuah Jaya
  30. Seremban
  31. Nilai
  32. Port Dickson
  33. Jempol
  34. Kuantan
  35. Temerloh
  36. Bentong
  37. Manjung
  38. Kuala Kangsar
  39. Taiping
  40. Teluk Intan
  41. Kangar
  42. Ampang Jaya
  43. Kajang
  44. Klang
  45. Selayang
  46. Subang Jaya
  47. Sepang
  48. Kemaman
  49. Dungun
  50. Padawan
  51. Sibu
  52. Kota Samarahan
  53. Bintulu
  54. Sandakan
  55. Tawau
  56. Labuan
  57. Putrajaya

According to MOHR, the move to increase the minimum wage in the aforementioned areas to a level above the country’s existing RM1,100 (US$263) uniform national rate is intended to help workers cope with higher local living costs. The new rate, which will be subject to periodic review, is also thought to be in line with the government’s aim of delivering a minimum monthly wage of RM1,500 (US$363) by 2023. The decision to maintain the existing uniform national rate in all other areas, meanwhile, is believed to be an attempt to incentivise businesses to re-locate to the country’s less-developed regions.

Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)