About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
繁體 简体
Save As PDF Print this page

China Introduces Changes to Internet Domain Name System Hierarchy

As of 2 March this year, the Ministry of Industry and Information Industry (MIIT) introduced a number of changes to the Chinese internet domain name system (DNS) hierarchy.

Among the major changes were the following:  

  • Domain names may now consist of alphabetic characters (A-Z, a-z, with no differentiation made between lower and upper-case characters), numbers (0-9), a hyphen (-) or Chinese characters, with a dot (.) as the separator between different subdomain names. In the case of Chinese domain names, the separator may be a dot or a Chinese full-stop (。).
  • In addition to the national top-level domain names (cn and 中国) several other top-level domain names (in English and Chinese) have now been introduced.
    For further details of the new Chinese DNS hierarchy, please visit the following links:

  • Below the national top-level domain name (cn), there are two categories of second-level domain names –  category domain names and administrative region domain names. In total, there are 34 administrative region domain names, which correspond to China’s provinces, autonomous regions, municipalities and special administrative regions.

For further details (in Chinese), please visit the following link:

Announcement of the MIIT (No. 7 [2018])


Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)