About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
繁體 简体
Save As PDF Print this page

Five Further Cities Approved for Trial Cross-Border E-commerce Programme

Five additional cities have been approved for participation in a cross-border e-commerce pilot programme that sees all such imports designated as personal items. As of 1 January 2018, according to a statement issued by the Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM), purchasers in Hefei, Chengdu, Dalian, Qingdao and Suzhou will be granted the same privileges as those based in the 10 cities approved for participation in the initial stages of the programme – Tianjin, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Ningbo, Zhengzhou, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Chongqing, Fuzhou and Pingtan. In line with a 20 September 2017 edict issued by the State Council, the overall term of the programme has also been extended and will now run through until the end of 2018.

In an additional move, MOFCOM is continuing to review a number of regulatory issues relating to cross-border e-commerce. This follows concerns over several quality and safety issues related to the freedom from inspection enjoyed by such imports. 

For further details, please refer to the following link:

Regular Press Conference of MOFCOM on 7 December 2017

Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)