About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
Save As PDF Print this page

Exportation of Five Mercury Compounds to Be Banned on 1 January 2020

As required by the chemical reform legislation that was recently enacted into law, the EPA has banned the exportation of five mercury compounds – mercury (I) chloride or calomel, mercury (II) oxide, mercury (II) sulphate, mercury (II) nitrate, and cinnabar or mercury sulphide – effective from 1 January 2020. The only exception from this ban are mercury compounds exported to member countries of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development for environmentally sound disposal, on the condition that no mercury or mercury compounds so exported are to be recovered, recycled or reclaimed for use or directly reused after such export. The law also provides that the EPA, on determining that exporting any additional mercury compound for the purpose of regenerating elemental mercury is technically feasible, may add such mercury compound to this list. In addition, any person may petition the EPA to add a mercury compound to this list.

Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)