About HKTDC | Media Room | Contact HKTDC | Wish List Wish List () | My HKTDC |
Save As PDF Print this page

Import Restrictions Imposed on Five Shark Species

The Fish and Wildlife Service has issued a final rule listing five shark species as endangered under the Endangered Species Act: the daggernose shark (Isogomphodon oxyrhynchus), Brazilian guitarfish (Rhinobatos horkelii), striped smoothhound shark (Mustelus fasciatus), spiny angelshark (Squatina guggenheim) and Argentina angelshark (Squatina argentina).

This listing prohibits the import and export of these species; the sale and offering for sale of such species in interstate or foreign commerce; the delivery, receipt, carriage, transport or shipment of such species in interstate or foreign commerce and in the course of a commercial activity; and the take (e.g., hunt, collection, harm) of these species within the United States, within the U.S. territorial seas or on the high seas. These prohibitions apply to all persons subject to U.S. jurisdiction.

Content provided by Picture: HKTDC Research
Comments (0)
Shows local time in Hong Kong (GMT+8 hours)

HKTDC welcomes your views. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers.
Review our Comment Policy

*Add a comment (up to 5,000 characters)